LAB COURSES
  • Human Biology
  • Biochemistry
  • Physiology
  • Pharmacology & Toxicology
  • Dept. of Molecular Genetics
  • Medicine
  • Immunology
  • Medical Engineering
Department of Human Biology
Human Biology courses are a collaborative undertaking of the Faculty of Arts and Science and the Faculty of Medicine. The goal of each Human Biology program is to provide a broad education focused on an area of biological science relevant to humans. Students will receive a solid foundation in life science courses together with insight from the humanities and social sciences. www.hmb.utoronto.ca
Course Coordinator
HMB202H
Introduction to Health and Disease
Dana Patterson
dana.patterson@utoronto.ca
HMB310H
Laboratory in Neuroscience
HMB311H
Laboratory in Genes, Genetics and Biotechnology
HMB312H
Laboratory in Health and Disease
HMB314H
Laboratory in Human Biology
Alistair Dias
alistair.dias@utoronto.ca
HMB471H
Performance Enhancement
Franco Taverna
franco.taverna@utoronto.ca
HMB489H
Advanced Laboratory in Human Biology
Christine Wong
cjaye.wong@utoronto.ca
Department of Biochemistry
Biochemistry is the study of the chemistry of living organisms. It includes the identification of cellular molecules and their formation and degradation; the production of energy by cells; and the structure, synthesis and information content of macromolecules such as proteins and nucleic acids. Biochemists seek a molecular explanation of life; they are primarily interested in the relationship between molecular structure and function.. www.biochemistry.utoronto.ca
Course Coordinator
BCH242Y
Biochemistry
BCH370H
Laboratory Course in Biochemical Techniques
Dr Sian Patterson
sian.patterson@utoronto.ca
BCH377F
Biochemistry Laboratory I
BCH378S
Biochemistry Laboratory II
BCH478F
Laboratory Course in Biochemical Techniques
Dr Ahlia Khan-Trottier
ahlia.khan@utoronto.ca
DEN121Y
Dentistry Biochemistry Laboratory
Dr. B. Ganss
b.ganss@utoronto.ca
Department of Physiology
Physiology is the study of living matter in action, i.e. the study of organ system function by physical or chemical means. It is an integrating discipline dealing with controls, compensations and interrelationships. Interaction with the environment is always a major factor. Physiology serves as a bridge between cellular biology and control theory and systems analysis. In this respect it resembles Engineering with which it shares a foundation in physics and chemistry. www.physiology.utoronto.ca
Course Coordinator
PSL280
Intro to Physiologic Adaptations of Marine Mammals
Dr. Carin Wittnich
c.wittnich@utoronto.ca
PSL372F
Mammalian Physiology Laboratory

Physician Assistant Program
Lab component
Dr. Nohjin Kee
nohjin.kee@utoronto.ca
PSL374S
Advanced Physiology Laboratory
Dr. M. Wojtowicz
martin.wojtowicz@utoronto.ca
PSL1026
Advanced Topics: Experimental Cell Physiology
Dr. Z.P. Feng
zp.feng@utoronto.ca
PSL Meds I
M. Schreiber
m.schreiber@utoronto.ca
PT 1002
Cardiorespiratory & Exercise Physical Therapy Practice
Sunita Mathur / D. Brooks
sunita.mathur@utoronto
Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Pharmacology is a broadly based and integrative discipline of biology dealing with the properties of chemical compounds and their interactions with living systems. The discipline provides the scientific basis and principles for a variety of special applications, such as the study of drug actions in the health sciences, the use of drugs as therapeutic agents in medicine or as tools in scientific research, the development and control of pharmaceuticals, the investigation and control of poisons and pollutants in natural and social environments, and as yet unforeseen applications in the future. www.pharmtox.utoronto.ca
Course Coordinator
PCL461H
Advanced Pharmacology Laboratory
PCL465H
Advanced Toxicology Laboratory
PCL491H
Clinical Pharmacology Laboratory
PCL366H
Basic Pharmacology & Toxicology Laboratory
Dr. Anita Hamadanizadeh
anita.hamadanizadeh@utoronto.ca
Department of Molecular Genetics
Molecular biology has revolutionized the fields of genetics and microbiology. The Department of Molecular Genetics offers Specialist and Major programs in Molecular Genetics and Microbiology, which emphasize the molecular aspects of both disciplines. Genetics, the science of heredity, and microbiology, the study of microorganisms (microbes), have long served as meeting grounds for a variety of biological disciplines. Developments in genetics and microbiology have contributed greatly to our basic understanding of the fundamental processes of life as well as to the treatment of genetic and infectious diseases. www.moleculargenetics.utoronto.ca
Course Coordinator
MGY 314F
Principles of Genetic Analysis
Dr. Barbara Funnell
b.funnell@utoronto.ca
MGY 315S
Dr. J. Brill
j.brill@utoronto.ca
MGY 360F
Dr. F. Roth
fritz.roth@utoronto.ca
MGY 379
Microbiology Laboratory
Dr. Martha Brown / A. Bognar
martha.brown@utoronto.ca
MGY 432
Laboratory in Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
Dr. Benjamin Blencowe / S. Gray-Owen
b.blencowe@utoronto.ca
Faculty of Medicine - Undergraduate Medical Education (UME) MD
Meds I - Rotations
Blood Pressure and ECG rotations

Meds I - Rotations
Vision

Meds I
Seminar rotations.



Divison of Teaching Laboratories provides the space and equipment to run various UME labs.
www.facmed.utoronto.ca
Department of Immunology
Immunology is an integrative branch of the medical sciences that draws upon the more traditional disciplines of Molecular Biology, Microbiology, Pathology, and Biochemistry. In essence, Immunology is the study of the physiological responses that result when foreign (i.e. non-self) materials are introduced into a vertebrate organism such as man. www.immunology.utoronto.ca
Course Coordinator
IMM 435F
Practical Immunology
Dr. Goetz Ehrhardt
goetz.ehrhardt@utoronto.ca
Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
The MIE Department is home to undergraduate programs in Mechanical Engineering, and Industrial Engineering, and graduate programs that specialize in a wide range of mechanical and industrial research areas. www.mie.utoronto.ca
Course Coordinator
MIE 439
Biomechanics 1
Dr. Craig A. Simmons
c.simmons@utoronto.ca
For more information regarding each course, please contact the respective departments, programs, and faculties (eg. Faculty of Arts and Science)
Faculty of Medicine Home Page